Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As time changes and technological development, the ways to reach success in a career nowadays are different from the past, even the definition of a successful career is different. Personally, I believe that it is easier to decide a career to meet the public expectation of a successful and stable life in the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which will be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, there were fewer kinds of jobs in the past and most successful people did the same jobs, therefore, it was easy to follow what kinds of jobs can lead a smooth life. For instance, these days, with the development of technology, there are plenty of new areas for me. One time my university held an employment expo and those new fields made me confused that I cannot find out what types of career I should do to have a stable and successful future. In different areas, there are not enough samples to follow, I needed to do some research to understand some new fields I am interested in, such as medical engineering and industrial design, which combine different areas and did not exist in the past. Thus, I do think it was easier to identify what kinds of jobs can lead to a successful life in the past.

Moreover, the points of view of people in the past are simpler than modern people. Besides this, people only had few choices of good careers since most people insisted that wealth and social status are symbols of success, and today everyone has their own new definitions of success. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. As my parents' standard, I should become an engineer since I can earn more money and I can have a higher social status. By contrast, as my definitions, to have a successful future is to get a job I am interested in and to be outstanding in this area. Further, my ambition is to be a war correspondent, while my parents consider that this job will make me live in danger and that being journalist will not make me rich so they do not support me to chase my goal. Hence people in the past had the same opinion of jobs, which lead to an idea future.

In conclusion, no one can deny that it was easy to identify what career or job would guide a secure and successful future for people in the past. This is because there were not many options for perfect jobs and people can find a model easily in the past, also because people had a consensus that wages and status are equal to success and security.