Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important things people learn are from families.

Once humans are alive, they are learning. Learning from their families, from their friends, from their colleagues, even from themselves, their own experience. In my opinion, people usually learn the most important things from their experience and others instead of their families. There are two reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, humans usually understand themselves from the process of getting along with others, and they can realize how society works and how to deal with interpersonal relationships with other people. Besides this, families usually are more tolerant of their relatives. For instance, we can know what we like and dislike from interaction with our peers. If someone treats me rudely, I will know I should not do it to others since I know how the feeling is. On the other hand, if I am impolite to my parents, I may not think that is improper behavior. In short, people spend the most time with non-related people, and it is dramatically different between the way to communicate with families and to communicate with friends or coworkers. Thus, the things people can learn from their families sometimes are limited.

Moreover, the most important things we learned are usually from our own experience since everyone has a different background. There is a saying, “only the wearer knows where the shoe inches.” My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. The most impressive thing I remember is my first travel experience. Since I had never been abroad before I first time went to Japan, my mom was worried about me. She kept giving me some advice and telling me about her experience, such as which hotel I should book and which flight I should take. Afterward, there was a typhoon, and I could not go back because the flight was canceled. To deal with all problems, I managed where to stay and how to catch the next flight. Hence, I think the most important thing I learned is from my own experience because only I know the situation at the moment, and only I can figure it out. Consequently, families may stop me from doing something because they want me to avoid failure; however, people usually learn from the mistakes and the problems in daily life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the most important things we learn are not from others instead of my family. This is because there is a higher chance that we learn from our friends or even strangers. Additionally, what the most important thing for everyone is different, and we usually can only learn from our own experience.