Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important things people learn are from families.

Since the dawn of humanity, human beings have been curious about the surrounding environment and about learning new things. Nowadays, with the development of technology, there are different sources from which people can learn. In this line of thought, there is a fierce controversy as to whether the most important things that children are being taught are by their family or not. I, personally, believe that family plays a pivotal role in the conveying vital things to children for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, family members are the ones with whom children spend the vast majority of their time, which can both consciously and unconsciously affect children’s social skills. To be more specific, the family environment is the first place where kids learn how to interact with people surrounded them. Needless to say that social skills are of vital importance on children’s academic and professional success in the future. Statistics have shown that children brought up in a sociable family are more socially interactive than those reared in an isolated family. To put it another way, the more extroverted the family, the more communicable and sociable children will become during their adulthood. My own experience is compelling evidence to put it into perspective. I was born in a friendly family that were fond of interacting with relatives and neighbors. As I was growing up, I learned to be more and more sociable from my family, resulting in a sharp rise in my self-confidence. Several years later, when I entered workforce, my colleagues and supervisors admired me due to my intrinsic managerial skills. I owe this unique trait to my family. Had they not been such sociable, I would not have been able to get promoted to a senior at my workplace.

Secondly, children often seek role models to imitate their behaviors, and the first people they run into are the family. To elucidate this, kids are extremely inclined to have a hero in their lives and to follow in their footsteps. Therefore, not only are children’s personalities unintentionally formed based on parent’s behavioral characteristics, but they also may have a tendency to be similar to their families. Recently I read an article in a major newspaper which pointed out that neither classmates nor friends are more efficacious in the children’s mental growth than family are. For example, when I was a child, my father had become my hero so much so that I would imitate the way he ate, spoke, and even wore. Today, everyone meeting us marvels at extraordinarily behavioral resemblance that exists between us. This example demonstrates how effective the family is in the shaping an individual’s personality and in the teaching important things.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that families teach the most paramount things to people. This is Because individuals spend the preponderance of their time in the company of families, and because parents are the first role models and shape children’s personalities.