Do you agree or disagree ? Most experiences in our lives that seemed difficult at the time become valuable lessons for the future.

Without any shadow of doubt, life is fraught with ups and downs, which require individuals to face and experience difficult situations. These experiences substantially affect people’s lives. In this line of thought, some people believe that undergoing difficulties provide individuals with precious lessons, which they can exploit in their future lives; however, others hold the opposite side, stating that encountering difficult situations have negative effects on one’s life and hinder their progress. I, personally, agree with the former group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, experiencing arduous circumstances help individuals discover their hidden skills and talents through which they can achieve their goals effectively. To be more specific, if people are confronted with difficulties, they are forced to exert themselves to deal with these tough experiences. Therefore, they identify their weaknesses and try to improve them; meanwhile, the hidden aspects of their aptitudes will be flourished progressively. My own experience is compelling evidence of this claim. During my studies as a graduate student, my advisor asked me to participate in an international conference and render a presentation. At first, having no experience of talking in front of a lot of professors and experts, I decided to refuse my professor’s suggestion and not to attend the conference. However, following consulting with my peers and a psychologist and taking some practice, not only did I learn how to shed my fear of talking in front of people, but I got familiar with some valuable technics related to presentation as well, such as establishing eye-to-eye contact with the audiences. Ultimately, I engaged in the conference and rendered my presentation so perfect that I was admired by professors and audiences. Since then, I became a more confident communicator thanks to the valuable lessons learning from that difficult experience. If I had not encountered the difficult situation of attending an international conference, my social skills would not have been discovered.

Secondly, difficulties teach individuals how to be persistent in their ways to achieve their aspirations. To elucidate this point, it is a fact that achieving prosperity is not straightforward and it needs considerable amount of effort and attempt. In fact, Dealing with problems is analogous to participating in invaluable classes because every probable failure teaches cherished lessons to individuals. In other words, a wise person will learn that he or she should persevere in their ways without frustration even if their efforts backfire. For example, following my graduation from university, I decided to run my own business and establish a programming firm. In contrast to my expectation, it was an extremely difficult experience so much so that I underwent some failures in the initial stages of foundation of my own company. Nevertheless, never did I give up and I continued my way in spite of different obstacles in order to attain my dream. Eventually, I established my company successfully, teaching me how to deal with problems and not become disappointed when I face a difficult situation.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that experiences which initially seemed difficult teach people invaluable lessons. Because not only they pave the way for discovering individual’s expertise and aptitude, but also teach them how to insist on their ambitions and goals in order to follow their dreams.