Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most experiences in our lives that

seemed difficult at the time become valuable lessons for the future. Use reasons and specific

examples to support our answer. (Model 1 A/D, generally one side of the issue is

discussed, similar to the Explanation type).

Each new day in our life, we learn something new. Sometimes, we are not even aware of it, but we gain, for sure, experience through interaction with our family members, schoolmates and coworkers. Some situations are too hard to be forgotten and from these specific incidents, we pick up the most valuable lessons. Hence, I agree with the statement that hardships that seem impervious at first could be our chance to acquire new knowledge and skills.

To begin with, some problems might look like the end of the world. However, after getting through them, we find out that they were not actually that intimidating. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. When I used to work a part-time job at a restaurant, one of my friends at work had bad manners and he always treated me in an odd way. He tried to harass me one time by cursing with foul language during business hours, blocking my way and threatening that he might use physical force against me. As a result, I was under stress most of the time and I was thinking of quitting my job. Nevertheless, I imagined that this could happen at any workplace and the right thing to do was to file a complaint instead to higher management. Subsequently, our supervisors investigated this instance that occurred between us and issued a warning for him. Thanks to that decision that I took, our relationship got so much better now and we even became close friends. Thus, these circumstances were crucial for me to understand what to do and how to handle common workplace bullying.

Moreover, we obtain significant information through tough encounters. For instance, I had a routine to take my bicycle at night and go biking in my country. Therefore, after I moved to California. I bought a bike and began to go cycling to get some exercise at night. Unfortunately, I was not aware of the law that bicycle lights are mandatory in the evening. Hence, one of the police officers stopped me to ask why I did not have lights on. It was very embarrassing for me but the officer just gave me heads-up to have lights next time. Consequently, this was important experience that motivated me to read about all the laws and regulations in the state, not only the ones about cycling but also about everything so that I do not break the law out of ignorance again.

To sum up, the opinion that we gain precious experience through uneasy situations rings true to me. This experience could help us to take the right path next time or it could bring our attention to something that was not in our perspective before.