Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing games teaches us about life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, I agree with the statement that playing games could teach us a lot about life. For instance, we can gain new skills, learn about ourselves and acquire knowledge about certain occupations or professions.

To begin with, many computer games today mimic reality to a large extent that they could be utilized to master specific skills. Some software simulations are employed by big aviation corporations to train new pilots. Instead of taking the risk of letting inexperienced staff to fly actual planes, companies in this field make use of game-like programs to teach their new employees the principles of controlling aircrafts. As a result, they save a ton of money by avoiding real-life experience. In addition, some other computer games are designed to help people learn to play music instruments. Some individuals speculate that the physical music instruments, such as guitars, pianos and cellos could disappear in the future and replaced by those applications since these programs literally produce the exact sounds that the real acoustic tools provide. Thus, games are extremely beneficial in improving our skills.

Secondly, Society could come to realize some values through games. The first thing that came into my mind is how a group of scientists in an Ivy league university were able to rely on games to prove certain hypotheses in psychology. In this experiment, they designed a monopoly game, which was intentionally rigged by giving one subject more money than the other person in the study from the beginning. The researchers were trying to look into how people could feel that any success they achieve is purely due to their hard work with no other contributing factors. During the game, the richer subject was able to win since he had more money. However, the winning subject attributed all the accomplishments to his superior skills, not because he was given more money. The experiment tried to illustrate how rich people could feel entitled to their wealth and could argue that poor people are poor due to their lack of skills, not the inequality of opportunities.

Lastly, people could enrich their knowledge through playing games. For example, the Happy Farm game gives an idea for the player about how a farm business could be run, such as what kind of crops to plant, how to take care of animals and how to organize the workflow so that the business would be more efficient.

To sum up, I am of the view that there are many advantages for playing games since we can develop skills, learn about ourselves and our values and picking up general knowledge.