Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and example to explain your answer.

Some people might say that holding animals in zoos is inhumane and cruel and they could argue that zoos do not serve any purpose. However, I disagree with this opinion. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the majority of individuals would agree with the notion that zoos are highly important for students. studying biology just from textbooks without seeing actual animals would be extremely boring. A multitude of creatures today do not live in their wild habitat and the only way to witness how they behave in reality is to watch them in zoos. For instance, it's nothing short of impossible for children to get to see a real lion, chimpanzee, gorilla and other rare animals on the streets and reading about these animals in books is not enough. Therefore, zoos are the places where anyone who is studying biological science could enhance their knowledge and verify the theoretical facts that they learn in school.

On top of that, a myriad of endangered species could be saved by keeping them in zoos and allowing them to breed. Due to climate change, deforestation and human activity, natural habitats for animals have been destroyed and their population dramatically decreased. Thus, introducing a number of these species in zoos could help prevent their extinction since they could get the medical care and food required for their growth. Plus, when the individuals are able to support themselves, zoos could choose to release them back to their wild environment. Furthermore, the revenue collected from selling tickets to visitors could be utilized to improve the natural habitat making sure sources of pollution, for example, are mitigated and this money could cover any expenses for hiring law enforcement personnel to enact animal protection laws. All in all, we should not overlook the benefits that zoos offer for our modern society.

To sum up, zoos plays a crucial role in our community owing to the fact that they could be considered as venues for education and also they could be the last refuge for species that are dying out.