Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that people today prefer to spend their time doing something enjoyable to accomplishing tasks required from them. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, individuals have a large number of entertainment options nowadays compared to what the picture looked like in the past. Students can play video games, surf the internet, listen to music, watch movies or even text their friends instead of studying. Similarly, workers could be tempted to use their cellphone while at the workplace and on the clock and even parents may fail to take care of their children due to the overuse of these electronic devices. To illustrate more thoroughly, personal enjoyment in the past was limited to outdoor activities and to do something pleasurable, people had to go out to a movie theatre or to a museum or a park. On the other hand, present day technology allows folks to indulge in instantly rewarding behaviors at the comfort of their own house or apartment. As a result, they end up neglecting the real work that they are supposed to do since they find it boring, daunting and less interesting.

Secondly, some people around the world today opt to pay someone to do their duty rather than doing it themselves. The concept of gig economy and freelancing has provided some individuals who want to work for couple of days an opportunity to be hired by other people who are in need of their services. It's undeniable that this process help the economy grow. However, it comes with a price. For instance, employees who desire to avoid finishing the work assigned to them could simply take advantage of these applications and recruit others to do it for them. I was astonished when I heard in the news about this programmer who worked for a big corporation and who hired a foreign national through the web to complete the job duties for him so that he could enjoy his trips around the globe. Unfortunately, it did not go well since he was immediately fired and lost his position. Moreover, some students have become too lazy to write their own essays and the market was right there to satisfy their needs. Many websites offer all kinds of writings for a fee.

To sum up, I concur with the opinion that people today choose to immerse themselves in various assortments of pleasure over achieving the work demanded from them. This is mainly due to the fact that enjoyable activities are more readily available now than before and dramatic changes that are happening in the economy, such as crowdsourcing which is a simple way of connecting employers to job-seekers, have made it easy to ditch one's resposibilitites by recruiting a temporary worker to do them.