Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many different ways of spending time, and it is important that we look for the options that match our personality. Personally, if I have been asked, I believe that people these days spend time appropriately on things they should spend time on. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, everyone these days is busy in their jobs and get very less time to spend on themselves. They have enough work pressure that many times they have to do overtime to complete their tasks. During their free time, every one wants to spend time as they like so as to relax from work stress. Many people prefer to go to gym after their work or during free time. As a result, they exercise and follow a healthy lifestyle which is important in today's life. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Four years ago, when I joined college to pursue my bachelors, I used to feel a lot of pressure with all the lecturers going from morning to evening and then home assignments. I was looking for something, which can be a good pass time and can benefit me in someway. I joined my friends who used to go to gym after college and after some days started liking it. This not only helped me with relieving stress, but in addition helped me to make new friends and become a healthy person. This clearly depicts that spending time on something you like which can relieve your stress and improve your health, is the best time spent.

Secondly, people these days are putting up their time in developing their hobbies. Everyone has their own interests and they love to spend time working on what they like. Some people are proficient in those such that they convert their hobbies to employment opportunities which gives them fruits further in their life. For example, my uncle, who is an excellent painter started pursuing his career in painting after completing his graduation. He is such a magnificent artist that people around world look for his exhibitions to get painting for decorating their workplaces or homes. This indicates that if my uncle has not followed what he liked, he would not have been such an amazing artist today.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people are spending their time on appropriate things which they should spend time on. This is because people are smart enough that they are finding benefits from their personal enjoyments, and because people are carving their careers through things they like the most.