Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days advertisement has more impact on people than ever before. In my opinion, advertisements targeting young kids should not be allowed. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore further.

First of all, children of this young age don’t have the acumen to decide if these advertisements are good or bad for them. At this young age, they want everything they like. Therefore, if televisions will show these ads again and again throughout a day, they will get attracted to them and will make an effort to get them by influencing their parents or by crying. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Seven years ago, when my kid was of this adolescent age, he was too much into watching television each day. As part of normal shows, he uses to see advertisements for video games and requested me to get one for him. Although I was not financially good to afford a video game, I have to get one for him on his promise that he will not spend more than half an hour a day playing games. His obsession with video games was that he started to spend the maximum of his evening playing games. As a result, he started ignoring his studies and failed in his mid-term tests. Had he not got influenced by TV ads, he would not have flunked his exam.

Secondly, companies only have intentions to sell their products at any cost. To accomplish this these companies have marketing departments that make strategies and hire professional ad companies for creating appealing ads. Further, they target those shows and channels which are mostly watched by young kids and purchase ad time for those shows and channels. For example, when I use to be a kid, we use to have ads for superhero toys, games, bottles and other daily use accessories on the cartoon and Disney channels but those ads were rarely seen on other Hollywood channels. Moreover, those ads use to have famous child artists using those products which create more influence on our minds.

In conclusion, I believe that television advertisements directed towards young kids should be banned. This is because children are not mature enough to decide good for them and because companies want to sell their products at any cost without thinking about its impact on kids.