Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? - "Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed." - Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the popularity of television, increasing development of television advertising has become the undeniable fact. It's worth pointing out that the television advertising serves as a double-edged sword. Currently, public concerns focus on the negative impacts of television advertising. Most of them claim that television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five is too harmful. As far as I am concerned, this standpoint is pretty convincing.

First of all, young children are inclined to pick up everything they saw and listened ever. Moreover, they are in the stage of knowing nothing about limitations. Thus, they are not allowed to get what they saw in television advertising immediately, since it’s not an enabling factor for their growing. If they couldn’t develop the quality of self-discipline at that age, great chances are that they would be spoiled and as a result, it’s nearly impossible that they are incapable of combating the setbacks and hardships independently. Thus, the television advertising directed towards young children should be prohibited.

In addition, the language style of television advertising will impede children's language learning. In other words, advertisement is not a good vehicle for knowledge. As is common sense, Short and profits-oriented language style of television advertising makes itself a worse example for children to model. It is not uncommon that children aged two to five are in a golden period when they can absorb knowledge as much as possible and lay a solid foundation for their future language capability and communication skills. Patents play an important role in their kids' personal and mental development and assume the responsibility for their kids’ education. Therefore, they are supposed to place emphasis on regular and scientific methodology rather than to immerse their kids in a vast majority of advertising. Detaching kids from advertising and then providing them with high-quality learning resources are the effective way to assist kids in improving their language ability.

To sum up, based on above arguments, I firmly draw the conclusion that children should be separated from television advertising.