TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Money plays a very important role in an individual’s life. There is an old saying that if a person is financially good he can buy anything in this world. Personally, I believe that it will not be a good idea to have children start managing their money at a young age. The rationale behind this will be elaborated in the ensuing paragraphs by two fundamental reasons.

The first reason which juts of mind is that, young children are not too much experienced to deal with money. At their age, they should prioritize to do well in their studies or to start getting involved in sports which can help them form a firm career in their future. They are already tired with their everyday school work that having an extra responsibility will feel a great burden for them. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Ten years ago, I used to study in my middle school. My father used to give me ten dollars every week as my pocket money. Instead of taking that money from him and saving it, I used to ask him to keep that with him and I will take it once I need it. To track my money feels like a task to me and I was already overwhelmed with all my school studies that I was not ready to take a new task. This states that even though we feel that we are ready to take an extra responsibility, but we don’t have enough time or experience to manage that task.

In approaching this issue, apart from the point I mentioned above, another equally important reason that should be scrutinized is that, it is not fair to say that if a kid starts managing money at young age can only grow into a responsible adult. There are many people who have been ignorant during their childhood and have become great entrepreneurs now. They have become financial gurus for other big companies and are managing large number of transactions for these large multi nationals. For example, my sister used to be spend money wastefully during her young days. My mother used to ask her a lot to keep track of her spending but she never paid attention to her. Now, as she has grown she has been graduated as a financial consultant and is working for a big companies managing their finances without a loss of penny. This depicts that some kids who use to be spendthrift during their childhood turn out to be much responsible in managing money than other are today.

In summary, taking all the aforementioned ideas into consideration, I think that it is not a good idea for children to start managing money at young age. This is because children are not experienced enough to take care of money, and because we cannot estimate from a person’s childhood that how he will manage money once he is adult.