Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

Friends are the treasure of everyone’s life and everyone has to make sure that they are in touch with their friends. Personally, I agree with the statement that the old friends have higher priority than the new friends. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, old friends are those who have been your real support when you have asked for someone to be next to you. They have guided you along your way to achieve heights and have saved you from dropping in the valleys of danger. They have seen you growing and would know what is best for you. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Ten years ago, when I was going to start my college, I was in great dilemma to either go for science degree or management course. Although my interest was to become a famous scientist one day, but I was forced by my parents to go for a management degree and then join my father’s business. I tried to convince my parents, but to no effect they were un-turned. When I discussed this with one of my old childhood friend, he helped me to talk to my parents by revealing that how I used to take interest in science class during school, in addition, how I use to stood first in every of science assignments and exams. Consequently, my parents got convinced with his suggestions and I enrolled my science degree at one of the renowned universities. This clearly depicts that if my old friend would not have come to my rescue, I would not have been a famous scientist today.

Secondly, old friends are those who will come to your help if you will be in danger anytime. They are next to your parents who understands you. They are the people with whom you have grown till date.

For instance, I would never forget the help which my father’s friend offered him when he needs it the most. My father started a new garments business with a though to improve family’s financial condition. Though in initial years the business boomed and we were getting great profits, but with increase of market competitors with introduction of big multi-nationals to the market, we were not able to handle the competitions and sales dropped a lot. My father was in debt and there were no route in front of him except to reach to his old friends to offer some financial help. As soon as, my father’s old friends heard about this, they instantly planned to help my father in this financial crisis. Moreover, they also made sure that my father don’t have to pay interest for the money they will lend him to come of this crisis. This indicates that if my father would have old friends, our family would have been in a bad financial situation today.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that we should give much importance to our old friends. This is because they are your real supporters, and because they are the people who could help you out in any of the crisis.