Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History of mankind gives instances of friendship from young to the old. Human beings cannot survive without a company in whom he/ she can confide. Beginning with the nursery stage of school till the age of retirement man, either maintains his group of friends or try to make new ones depending on the situation. friends are soulmates with whom we share our joys and sorrows and ask freely for help. I believe that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

old friends are those whom we get at a young age when we were innocent and hence those friends will remain true and trustworthy throughout our life without any kind of expectations. such companions are those with whom we would have shared and spent most of our childhood days. For example, in my seventh grade, I found one of my classmates to be more helpful compared to other students in the class. she remains as one of my best friends even after twenty years. though we are in different parts of the country, the value of our friendship has not diminished.

Furthermore, childhood friends are known to our family which results in adequate bonding with the family members. Just because there are a greater number of people to watch the behavior, the tendency to fall into bad habits are less. A group of friends share a common behavior and thus, if one person in the group has decent qualities, it will be imitated by all the members of the group. Therefore, everlasting friends do not commit sins often.

Nevertheless, if we tend to make new friends, we might not be in a situation to know whether they can be trusted or not. Statistics reveal friends made at the teenage turn out to be rivals due to selfishness, ego and other kinds of attitude formed during the adolescent stage of development. such companions at that age lack maturity and hence find it difficult to deal with problems.

To put in a nutshell, the facts can be reiterated that than long lasting friends are those who is known to a person from childhood days. even though we come across many people in our day to day life, old friends are the best and will never compensate the new ones we tend to make in our lifetime.