The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The given argument, instead of shedding light on a mammoth task, has given importance to a less significant fact. every day, in the newspaper, we find a myriad of descriptions relative to the Environmental hazards on people and things and how it is eating our earth and ruining the universe. The more complicated problems arise due to wastes from industry, e- wastes, plastics, household, etc. Consumer-generated waste accounts for only a nominal percentage in comparison to other wastes.

Therefore, to impose strict limits on the amount of trash that will be accepted from each household may not lead to fruitful results. If such a rule is laid down, then there are two possibilities of the effort taken to go wrong. Firstly, uneducated people may resort to other means of disposing their waste materials which in turn could lead to the accumulation rather than a reduction of trash. Since nowadays, public trash cans are set up in all places accessible to humans, there is a greater chance of them to get filled and overflooded every day. On the other hand, individuals might start thinking that they are doing a good job, unaware of the fact that household garbage constitutes a very minimal amount that can get accumulated over a period. Hence, they might not care about the other side of the issue like taking steps in order to avoiding littering and throwing of e-waste.

Furthermore, before any rules or regulations are laid down, it is always better to educate the public by giving information’s about the current scenario that the world is facing and how their negligence could lead to their own destruction. Also, government should take steps to lead the citizens by means of living an exemplary life using the leaders as perfect role models. For example, in india, Swacch Bharat campaign was initiated with the motive to make india a cleaner and greener nation. initially, there was a greater incidence of throwing papers and other things wherever they felt like doing it. The initiative was taken by the prime minister from his own capital city thereby gradually accomplishing the goal towards the other parts of the country. In every state, it was advised that, a person found negating such restrictions would be imposed with heavy fines and penalties. Recently, on could witness the reduction of littering in public places followed by construction of public toilets and effective usage of them. Women were educated on the proper use of napkins and heir safe disposal. This type of awareness has led to the country to be on the verge of becoming a developed nation according to the vision of our former president and scientist Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam.

Thus, to conclude, it could be reiterated that, instead of trying to put an end to minor issues, steps can be taken to sort out major problems, which could in turn lead to the betterment of all the people in the world directly and indirectly. Even though stringent actions on basic issues could be a turning point in each and ever one, it is better to stop the aggravation of a more serious issue.