Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

Setting up a good mental base of a students is very important to succeed in life. There are many discussions about whether students should know concepts better or they should just know facts. Personally, I believe that it is of great importance for a kid to know ideas and concepts in contrast to just learning about facts. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the future of a bright student depends upon how thoroughly he knows the basics of anything he is studying about. If someone is planning to be a researcher or doctor one day, that kid’s though process should be such that he can think about varied approaches to reach a solution or discover something new. If a student has his concepts clear, than only they will be able to achieve this as to discover something or to invent sometime we need to know how things constituting that works. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Ten years ago, when I was planning to appear for medical entrance exam, I was suggested by many of my relatives and friends that to clear the exam someone needs depth knowledge of basic concepts and new areas. As from childhood, I was more into understanding concepts rather than learning just the facts, I was confident that passing the exam will not be difficult if I concentrate on my studies a bit and learn about new areas in medicine. This example describes that why I believe that knowing concepts is more important. If my basic concepts would not have been clear, I would have faced difficulties in clearing the exam.

Secondly, a student who has his concepts clear will be more confident in his life. He knows what he is talking about or what he is going to look for. No one will be able to make fool of him. As a result, that person can easily reach heights in his personal and professional life. For instance, when my wife who has just finished her master in business administration, went for interviews for getting a job she was so confident in answering to the questions asked by interviewers that she got job offer at the same time. Due to her clarity of concepts, she was able to nail down each question with the appropriate answers which impressed the chairman of the company. This clearly depicts that concentration on learning the basics is more crucial than cramming things.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that kids should know concepts better than they know facts. This is because it is important for making a career in scientific fields, and because it makes them confident in their life.