It is sometimes said that borrowing money from a friend can harm or damage the friendship. Do you agree? Why or why not? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

I disagree with the statement that borrowing money from a friend could harm or damage the relationship. I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, borrowing and lending could build trust, honesty and reliability between partners. To illustrate, if a friend can count on me to give him some money when he needs it, this will help us to feel that we will be for each other in hard times and will provide meaningfulness for the relationship. Moreover, when the borrowing side return the money back to his or her friend, this will make the lender feel how honest and truthful his friend is. My own experience is a perfect example on this. When I used to work at a grocery store last year, one of my coworkers was buying something and was checking out using his credit card. However, his payment tender was denied many times and he felt embarassed since the check-out process took a long time and there was a line of people waiting behind him. As I was standing and watching what was going on, I decided to pay for him with my credit card. He promised me he would pay me back the money next morning. When we saw each other on the next day, I found him bringing back the money and thanking me for what I did. Before this incident, we were just coworkers and our relationship was only superficial. Nevertheless, after this happened, we got even closer to each other since he found me a reliable friend who would not hesitate to help when there is a calamity and I found him a trustworthy honest person when he decided to pay back the money.

Secondly, strong commitment to preserve the relationship is key to get over any financial issues. Even though asking a friend for money and getting a rejection or taking money from a friend and never repay back might slightly erode trust, a well-established relationship, good communication and understanding between colleagues could relatively resolve these kinds of problem. For instance, if one side was not able to offer help, they may have an excuse and the other side may be understanding and not judgmental. Same applies when a partner is not capable of paying their debt. if the relationship is strong enough, they would work it out together and find a mutual understanding. For example, When I was in high school, I lent some money to one of my classmates since he asked for help. after I waited for him to pay me back, he never did. Consequently, I tried to talk to him about it but I discovered that he was actually going through a really tough time. As a result, I got to pick up the whole picture and I even forfeited this amount of money.

To conclude, I oppose the idea that loans between close friends could permanently destroy the relationship. This mainly due to the fact that open-minded persons are able to overcome these minor things with commitment and dedication to their relationship.