Do You Agree Or Disagree That Progress Is Always Good? Use Specific Reasons And Examples To Support Your Answer.

Many aspects of our lives rely on how much progress we have achieved in this specific area. While humans have accomplished a great deal of advancement in many fields, they still lag behind in other realms. Generally speaking, the more steps we have taken forward, the better. Hence, I totally agree with the statement that progress is always a good thing for a multitude of reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the majority of individuals would concur with the notion that improving our way of thinking about or doing something engenders a myriad of advantages. Let's take what transpired in the communication industry in the last two centuries. People have developed their communication tools from using birds, such as pigeons, to sending instant messages or even video calling. In the past, the transport of letters took days or oftentimes months since people depended on primitive means, which were also unreliable as their messages could sometimes never reach the destination. In some other cases, the correspondence could be tampered with by other parties who had an interest in doing so. However, nowadays, methods of connecting with other people are much more convenient, more efficient and more secure. You can send a text message and get confirmation for the time it was delivered and also notified whenever the recipient read it and this only reflects how progress in the arena of communication technology has made our lives much easier. All in all, we cannot and should not overlook the benefits we have gained through hard work and achievements in all areas that concern human beings.

Secondly, fields that did not witness much progress in the last two hundred years are the cause behind human suffering. Research areas that require experimentation on human subjects have not seen the same amount of innovation as other areas where no barriers or obstacles for implementing trials existed. For instance, although some small leaps forward have been done in the medical field like the discovery of antibiotics, we still far away from saying that healthcare is on the right track and is moving at a comparable speed like other realms of study. To illustrate more thoroughly, a plethora of diseases today have no known cure and providers only give medicines to relieve symptoms but not to eradicate the cause behind the illness. To be more specific, many kinds of cancers, different types of viruses and organ dysfunction cases perplex scientists and doctors. Had we accomplished more progress in the study of these diseases, we would have saved so many lives and would have avoided many tragedies that come about every single day.

To conclude, yes, it's virtually impossible to offer a detailed answer for an open ended question. Although the jury might be out on this given essay topic, we can come to a mutual agreement that progress is usually good since it provides a host of solutions to any problems in our modern day society.