Some people like to travel with a companion. Other people prefer to travel alone. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

In today's modern and sophisticated world, with advances in science and technology, traveling has become more popular among people due to its convenience compared to the past. In this line of thought, individuals, based on their personalities, have different attitudes towards their means of traveling. Some people are inclined to take a trip alone, and they believe that it is a more enjoyable journey; however, others hold the opposite side, preferring to have a companion during their vacation. I, personally, agree with the latter group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, being in the company of a friend makes it much easier to interact with local people during the travel. To be more specific, even though a lone traveler is extroverted, he or she may seem antisocial by local people living around. A couple, on the other hand, is usually considered not only more approachable but also far more friendly. My own experience is a compelling example to demonstrate this. Two years ago, my friend and I traveled to China as a summer vacation. Native people treated us with respect and hospitality, and we were welcome to homes and businesses with open arms. When I asked them about their kindness towards us, they mentioned that our noticeable cheerfulness and happiness were the significant grounds to motivate them to behave so kindly. In contrast, I took a trip to Turkey during the Christmas vacation last year. I tried to have a similar experience and to communicate with people there. Nevertheless, I was unable to establish a relationship, nor was I able to forge a simple contact with residents. This example substantiates that while a single traveler may be outgoing and kind, it can be challenging to identify from a far distance.

Second, traveling in a pair leads to a more economically advantageous trip in comparison with an alone one. To elucidate this point, nowadays, leisure travel is highly appealing to people, resulting in an astronomical rise in accommodation costs. In fact, over the last two decades, hotel managers and landlords have increased the price of rooms, especially during vacation times, which is the main budget drain and takes a financial toll on travelers. However, by vacationing with friends, individuals are capable of sharing the room and cutting the expenses considerably. In addition, if individuals travel along with a friend, other daily costs, including entrance fees, parking tickets, and preparing a meal, will be divided. For example, as I aforementioned above, visiting China with my friend two years ago, we rented an apartment and shared its cost, which was financially beneficial, and enabled us to save several hundred dollars. As a result of saving this money, we could change our plans and extend our trip for about one more week. This example demonstrates how financially beneficial traveling with a companion is.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the advantages of traveling with a partner outweigh the merits of a single vacation. This is because it is much more economically beneficial, and because being with a companion helps a traveler interact with local dwellers.