Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of humanity, human beings have been seeking friends to spend their time in the company of them and have a quality time. Making friends is of vital importance in people's lives since it has positive effects on their happiness. With this in mind, some people believe that the ability to maintain a relationship with a few friends for a long time is more paramount for happiness than the ability to make new friends easily. However, others hold the opposite side, stating that making new friends leads to more delightful life. I, personally, agree with the former group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, being in a close relationship with friends for a lot of time creates a strong intimacy between them, leading to forming a tight emotional bond, which positively affects individuals' happiness. To be more specific, as time goes on, not only will a person be more aware of their personality traits, but they will also understand their friends. The sympathy established between them helps them make each other happy and euphoric. Newly-made friends, on the other hand, are, to some extent, clueless about their friends' characteristics, resulting in a loose relationship even if a person has a couple of new friends. My own experience is compelling evidence to illustrate this claim. I have been in a close friendship with my friend, Ahmad, from my childhood, and we have had a great number of both bitter and sweet memories. Two years ago, nevertheless, having a serious conflict, we decided to cut our friendship. Afterward, I started making new friends due to my eye-catching sociable personality. Although I made some new friends, I felt Ahmad's absence in my life, and I was totally upset without him. This example demonstrates how efficacious the length of friendship is in making people delightful.

Secondly, Old friends are the ones who can support their friends in case of emergency, which gives their friends a sense of self-esteem and makes them happy. To elucidate, if people know that they have friends on which they can count when running into problems, they will feel a great sense of safety, providing them with exuberant life. For example, being able to enlist Ahmad's helping hand, I was utterly happy and felt a wonderful sense of security. However, Ali, my new friend, was not supportive, so that I could not ask him for assistance when I faced issues.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that maintaining friendships with old friends is more important than the ability to form bonds with new people. This is because old friends are more understanding and compassionate than the new ones, creating a convivial atmosphere between them. Besides, the loyalty and supportiveness of old friends generate a sense of safety, culminating in happiness.