Some university professors let their students choose their research topics themselves. Some do not. Which one do you thinks is better. Why?

In today’s competitive academic environment, educational centers are of vital importance in the success of their students and they are trying to boost the student’s intellectual level. Determining the appropriate research topics as a master thesis, a PhD thesis, and research papers plays a pivotal role in the professional future of students. With this in mind, some people believe that professors should permit students to choose their research topics; however, others disagrees with this idea, maintaining the view that students should not be allowed to opt the topic of their researches. I, personally, agree with the latter group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, students are unsure about what topic they should choose and they need the professor’s innovation in order to make a well-informed decision related to their research topic. To be more specific, lacking research experience, students are not cognizant enough as to what branch of their field is proper to be concentrated on. On the other hand, participating in host of international conferences provides professors with the most up-to-date information surrounding their expertise and field of study. Furthermore, not only have they supervised a lot of students, but also they have been totally familiar with the equipment available in the laboratories and research centers. These experience make the professors the most qualified person to choose a research paper. My own experience is compelling evidence to substantiate this claim. During my studies as a graduate student, I was required to determine my master thesis topic at the beginning of the first semester. I had never done an academic research before and I was entirely inexperienced, which put me under a lot of stress and tension. However, after I consulted with my advisor, he offered me three multidisciplinary, novel research topics. Following a brief research about the topics, I wrote and defended my proposal successfully. Finally, after two years of effort, I designed and manufactured a novel dental implant, resulting in two publication in valid journals. If I had chosen my thesis topic by myself, I would not have been such thriving.

Secondly, professors are capable of giving students some marketable skills and practical knowledge by defining proper topics. To explain more, most of the professors collaborate with industrial companies in order to solve their problems. In fact, companies allocate a specific funding to qualified professors in exchange for figuring out their projects, and they assign these projects as the research topic of their students. As a result, students can gain some invaluable utilitarian ability which help them find a job followed by their graduation. Because employers are looking for recent graduates whose information is not exclusively theoretical. For example, following my graduation, I was offered a prestigious job opportunity by the corporation from which my professor had got my master project.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that professors should choose the research topics for students. Because not only they have invaluable experience but also they connect students to market and introduce them to high-tech firms by assigning suitable research topics.