Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most experiences in our lives that seemed difficult at the time become valuable lessons for the future. Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Every adult has experienced a hard time in his life and has learned something from it. From my point of view, which I will develop in this essay, I agree with the idea that difficult experiences teach us valuable lessons and make us grow as people.

First of all, every individual learns differently from a difficult time. One of the most terrible things that may happen during our lives is the loss of a family member. At that very moment, one feels devastated and the pain might last weeks, months or years, depending on how much you loved that person and how resilient you are. My godmother has suffered many losses during her life. She told me that at an early age when she was only a teenager, she lost both of her parents due to a car accident. From this painful experience, she learned to be resilient in front of adversity, to be independent, and to value her life more. She began to work a few months after the accident when she was sixteen because she did not want to depend on her aunt, who was her nearest family member. With a lot of effort and enthusiasm, she learned to prepare cakes. This helped her not to be focused on her sorrow, but in her work, which she loved and still does. On the other hand, my dad lost his father when he was a child due to lung cancer. He tells me that he does not remember my grandparent very much. However, the lesson that he learned from this experience is that smoking is bad for our health. That is why he has never smoked and nobody in my family smokes.

Second, we have to make our own conclusions from troublesome times in order to not repeat the same mistakes. For instance, an engineering student may fail a subject because during all the semester he partied a lot and, of course, did not study much. Thus, the next semester he may decide not to attend every party and make a schedule to study and be better prepared for the exams. Consequently, the second time the student takes Calculus, he did it well because of his effort and what he learned from the first bad experience.

In summary, I believe that we always can make our conclusions from bad things that may happen in our lives and learn from them to grow as people.