Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most young people are still learning what is correct and what is wrong, and they are establishing their own standards and principle for many things. Personally, I think that it is important for young people to follow the rules. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, most young people do not have sound judgments, it is an ideal way to educate them on some basic morals. If no one requires them to obey the rules, they may not know the importance of rules, laws, and social regulations. Consider my schoolmates, for instance. Some of my schoolmates in my junior high school, who had not gotten serious punishment after making mistakes, such as bullying other students, cheating in the tests, and smoking on campus became criminals or went to prison. They did not realize the importance of rules and did not have the correct values. Further, since they found it was not a big deal when they made little mistakes, they believed that they would be fine even they make a bigger mistake. People may have wider tolerance ranges for young people, however, if they keep using the same attitude to face all of the consequences, they will only get aggravated punishment, and it will be too late to regret. Thus, that is why it is so important to ask young people to follow the rules.

Moreover, although young people are not mature enough and cannot control themselves as well as older people do, one day young people will grow up, and they will not be innocent anymore. Therefore, it is nonsense for young people not to follow strict rules. Besides this, it will be too complicated for polices and judges to have different standards between mature adults and young people. It is also more convenient to have the same requirement for all citizens. My personal experience is a compelling illustration. I got a fine for not following the traffic rule when I was eighteen, and I did not get any exceptions because I was young. The amount of the fine is the same as others, including a sixty-year-old man. Thus, no one will argue about this, and it also makes everything easier.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that all young people should take rules seriously. This is because young people should establish sound judgment before it is too late. Additionally, it is convenient for law-executor, and most people will not criticize it too much if young people do not have to obey the rules.