Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are now easier to become educated than in the past.

With the change of the times, the average education level of people nowadays is getting higher and higher. Personally, I believe this has a lot to do with easy access to education these days. I feel this way for two reasons, which will be explored in the following essay.

First and foremost, governments in many countries have improved their educational system for many years, and the governments also provide compulsory education for people under a certain age. Additionally, when we compare the current education system and the past, they are dramatically different, people can spend less tuition for higher education today. Take the difference between me and my parents, for example. When my parents were young, they needed to go to school for at least nine years, if someone wanted to go to high school, it would cost lots of money. At present, however, I have twelve-year compulsory education. Further, with government subsidy, the fee of my university cost even less than the fee I paid in my high school. Besides this, since the government cares more about education, there are so many resources that can be used for free in libraries, such as books, computers, reading zones, and so on. In short, I spent less money on my education than my parents did, while my educated time much longer than my parents’, I have more resources as well.

Moreover, with the development of technology, it is more convenient to be educated nowadays. There are more ways to learn knowledge and skills, people can go abroad, have a tutor, go to cram school, take online courses, and the likes. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. I have many options to decide how to be educated in my school days, and I was planning to go to Europe for an exchange program. In addition, benefiting from the development of transportation, I could take the fight to go to another place on the other side of the earth. On the other hand, it was difficult to go somewhere far away, even for going to school because there were only a few schools in the past, also at that time the transportation system is not as convenient as these days. Thus, it is much easier to become educated now.

To be brief, I insist that people now have more chances and choices to be educated than in the past. This is because people can use less money to get a good education, and people have more options to decide how and where to learn what they need.