Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The reading materials chosen by students on their own is more important than those assigned by their teachers.

It is impossible to go to school without a book for students and their reading materials play important role in their student life. In my opinion, students should decide what kinds of reading materials they would have instead of being asked to read a book. There are some reasons why I feel this way.

First of all, choosing a book or an article is helpful for students since they can explore their interests or even their future careers. Compare to teachers, students know themselves better, they know what kinds of fields attract them the most. Further, letting students choose reading materials gives them more chances to understand their ambition. For instance, a teacher lets all of her students choose the books for writing their reading experience and one of those students who has a high passion in history can choose the book he is interested in. In that, he has more opportunities to inspire his potential abilities and find a goal he wants to reach in the future. Thus, teachers should let students choose the essay or article by themselves.

Moreover, teachers read more literature and are more professional in certain areas indeed. Additionally, letting teachers choose literary works can save students’ time also can make sure the books they read are good. Reading the books assigned by the teacher, however, may waste students’ time as well. Since students will not read the books they are not interested in seriously. My personal experience is a compelling example. Once in a science lecture, the science teacher asked all of the students in the class need to read one of “Science” during the class. Whereas I was not surprised that most of us were not read it seriously, some of them were doing assignments for other courses, some people were even just falling asleep. Therefore, if students are given a book they like, they will read it harder and their skills or ability of thinking will actually be improved by the book.

In conclusion, there are significantly positive influences for letting students decide the reading materials for themselves. Because students can have more chances to explore themselves and develop their performance in the fields they like.