Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Sometimes it is hard to avoid the topics related to society or politics for teachers during the class, and some of the students certainly are curious about their teachers' opinions. In my opinion, teachers should not mention their own ideas especially talk about it in an emotional way, they should be objective. There are two reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, it will be a good chance for students to think about social or political issues on their own. It can help them to train their thinking ability and judgment. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. While my society teacher was explaining how the election works, one of my classmates asked her who she would vote in the next presidential election. After a short awkward moment, she started introducing the three candidates, the policies they announced, their backgrounds, and the parties they belong to. After finishing the introduction, she asked the student who he wants to vote. For me, it was an impressive class since I also tried to think about who I would like to support. In short, it is important to give the students opportunities to think and have their own ideas instead of giving the answer, especially sometimes there is no correct answer.

Moreover, teachers should not express their views on sensitive issues. In that, some students do not have sound judgment, they may be impacted by others' opinions. Consider the issue of abolishing the death penalty, for instance. People hold different ideas for ethical and personal reasons. If a teacher harangue about the issue subjectively, the students who have never thought about this topic may agree with him or even believe he is right. Therefore, teachers should not try to control students' minds.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that teachers should avoid talking about their point of view about some certain social or political events. This is because they should help students to cultivate their own values and thinking abilities. Additionally, teachers should not express their personal thoughts and emotions to their students since they may cause some negative effects to the students.