Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

From the dawn of civilization, allocation of budget to public projects has always been a matter for governments. In this regard, some people believe that in today's hectic life, enhancing Internet access is more significant than improving the public transportation, while some others have opposite viewpoint. As far as I am concerned, I have enough reasons to feel that the second idea carries more weight. I will enlarge on what I mean in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the most obvious benefit of using public transportation is its effect on the environment while accessing Internet do not have any direct impact on environment. Undoubtedly, when public transportation develops, people won't use their personal cars which means less carbon dioxide will release into the atmosphere. As a result, the air pollution will decrease dramatically. As a way of illustration, take the comparison of Scandinavian countries, which has reliable public transportations, and some Middle Eastern ones, which suffer from lack of well-developed public transportation. Almost always do people use public transportation in Scandinavian countries, since it is a well-developed system and they can go everywhere with it, so the weather is always in a good condition. Whereas, in some Middle East countries the weather is totally polluted because people do not have a great access to public transportation, so they have to use their own cars. Therefore, the air pollution is increasing in those countries.

Secondly, having a great deal of access to Internet can distract people from doing their main duties. In addition, it persuades people to use their appliances a lot and pay less attention to reading books. Conversely, people can be at their workplace, if they have a comprehensive public transportation. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. Even though bank employees used to do their works very well as they did not have access to Internet, they do not pay enough attention to people's requests nowadays and make a lot of mistakes. Those mistakes are sometimes so deleterious for people that they have to spend a considerable amount of time to correct it.

To sum up, all things considered, I firmly believe that governments should dedicate their budgets to public transportation since it is more essential for societies. Given the fact that, it is more beneficial for environment and having access to Internet broadly can prevent people from doing their duties.