Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For hundreds of years people have never stopped debating about whether classmates are more significant impact than parents on a child’s success in the school or not. Although it seems plausible at first glimpse that parents have a considerable effect on their child’s success in the school, I would counter this point of view due to some reasons. I will enlarge on what I mean in this essay.

Above all, usually, there are competitions among children in classes, in stark contrast, children never compete with their parents. In other words, children’s classmates are noticeable motivation for them to study their lessons well. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. My classmates and I were real rival in lessons for each other, and we all desperately wanted to get the best grade in each lesson, but this competition was only about lessons, not in other aspect of being rival. Therefore, they were the best motivation for me and I always tried to do my best in exams.

The other reason which deserves some words is that due to the development of science, teachers often use new methods to teach students which parents are not familiar with those ways. To clarify this point, classmates are the best private teacher for each other since they are studying the same things simultaneously, so they can see a subject from dissimilar point of view. As a result, they can help each other very well. Take my high school, for example. Although we had a competition about our lessons, we helped each other in distinctive ways. I sometimes had problems with mathematic and my friend, Ali usually helped me to solve those troubles. However, my parents could not explain them to me in an efficient way since they solved them with old methods which were too tough to me.

Another subtle point which I should deem lies on the fact that parents are not in the classrooms, so they have no impact on the atmosphere of that, while classmate can help each other to make a relaxing atmosphere for themselves and even for their teacher which can lead to prosperity for all of them. Hence, classmates are more noteworthy effect than parents on a child’s success in the class and likewise in the school.

To sum up, given the facts that classmates can be a good motivation for children, they help each other in distinctive ways since they have lots of things in common, I am of the opinion that they have more influence on the goal achievement of the children in the schools.