Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child s success in school Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The academic success of children lies in numerous factors. Parents, teachers, peers and even internet resources can impact the growth of children. Among those, I think that their classmates determine their success the most.

Though parents can make their children participate in extracurricular lessons to improve their individual abilities, I still view them as a driving force rather than the major contributor to a child’s success. To begin with, students have to interact with each other. They learn how to communicate with each other, and cope with classmates of all personalities. A child’s character is often shaped in an early phase in their learning process, and it’s often difficult to change. For example, a kid who acts like a leader would carry this mentality into later stages in life, standing out among a group and being decisive.

In addition, children share the same learning experience with their classmates and basically have an identical experience with them. They can receive immediate assistance from peers, especially when teachers aren’t around. They also tend to look up to the better ones among their peers. In categories such as learning science, mathematics or exercising, they would view those who are better at respective categories as role models and ask for advice or even replicate their methods in order to enhance themselves.

Furthermore, the competitive nature between classmates cannot be overemphasized. Children always want to be the best among their peers, triggering healthy competition between them. Students don’t like to fall behind, and if they do, they’ll try to catch up. They may be driven into participating in contests or study more diligently due to the intense competition.

In conclusion, classmates affect the success of children the most. Unless the kid is a prodigy that has realized potential, it’s impossible to succeed without classmates. Classmates assist each other, and without them, it’s hard for children to fit into society.