In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first month after the birth of their baby Does advantage outweigh disadvantages

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how to protect pregnant women’s rights. This has led to the suggestion that we should allow women to request maternity leave after their babies are born. In my opinion, it is wise to follow this advice as the advantages of this mother-friendly policy outweigh its disadvantages.

Admittedly, the downsides to having a long maternity leave should be recognized for the following reasons. First and foremost, companies will need to find a temporary substitute for the work, which is not easy. For example, the staff members of an educational institute are mainly composed of women. When employees ask for maternity leave, the company is very likely to lose a great deal of money in order to find temporary teachers. In addition, the mothers will be unable to get updated with the recent development of their companies after they return to the workforce. After being detached from their jobs for a while, they need to keep up with the pace of their colleagues ahead of them, and this gap usually results in low productivity and inefficiency. However, this does not necessarily imply that they should be denied access to taking a break after giving birth.

In fact, there are two advantages accruing from the policy of maternity leave. To begin with, mothers are able to take good care of their newborn babies. According to a scientific study, there has been a significant increase in the survival rate of premature infants if their mothers are permitted maternity leave. Another benefit of this mother-friendly policy is that women can take a long rest. There has been some evidence that giving birth debilitates women’s health, and this policy can effectively help regain their energy.

In conclusion, both of two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that the benefits of giving women maternity leave far outweigh its drawbacks.