In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first month after the birth of their baby. Does advantage outweigh disadvantages?

It is quite common in many countries that women could have a one-month leave after the birth of their baby. In present essay, I shall discuss both the advantages and disadvantages before giving my comparative conclusion.

The merits for this trend may involve the recognition that mothers, who gave a birth, could recovery from weak state as soon as possible during this leaving month followed by being more productive and energetic on their work as well as becoming more loyal to their company. On the other hand, it also bring benefit ti society development in the long run, as women would like to have children promoted by such policy, which can rise the rate of birth for the country alleviating the problem, or giving Japan as an example which country now has heavy finance burdens caused by low birth rate.

However, there are certainly disadvantages in terms of the employers' perspective. They may face the situation that many female employees ask for leaving in maternity reason, leading to low efficiency and other negative effects. For instance, others need to work on the occupations temporarily but they do not know how to operate things they are not familiar with. But overall, I think this is less likely in fact, while the holiday is only one month and conversely many mother would shorten this leave period in order to earn their living.

To conclude, I think the aforementioned demerit is not the issue compared with the considerable workers' loyalty and motivation together with the long term benefit for society increasing the birth rate.