Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Nowadays, many countries hope to use the international sports events to gain worldwide attention and reputation. In order to achieve this goal, they provide specialized equipment for training elite athletes rather than improving public access to fitness facilities. From my perspective, although this athlete-friendly policy brings some potential benefits, I assert that this is negative development which would lead to health problems and public discontent.

Admittedly, it is reasonable that some governments have strong incentives to build high-quality sports complexes exclusively used by professional athletes. To begin with, building specialized equipment not only creates a better training environment but also boosts a national image and pride if the athletes win international championships. In addition, this situation can increase patriotism among people, particularly when they see athletes from their own country holding the gold cup and waving the national flag. Also, athletes give younger generations a paradigm to emulate. For instance, Chinese children become more enthusiastic about basketball after Yao Ming wins the NBA playoffs. However, this benefits mentioned above does not necessarily mean that professional athletes should have the privilege of monopolizing national resources.

In fact, building specialized equipment only for top athletes contributes to obesity among people because there are no appropriate facilities for them to lose weight. According to the Human Health Organization, governments cannot downplay the role that sports facilities play in people’s health. This rationality is based on the fact that countries which do not provide sports equipment for every resident have a higher obesity rate than those which do. Worse still, the health organization alerts people to the downsides of obesity, stating that not only does obesity affect the appearance of people but it also compromises their health or even brings about some lethal diseases such as high blood pressure, cardiovascular diseases and cancer.

Second, this unfair policy that favors professional athletes sparks civil outrage because people think governments have abused the tax system. Seventy percent of people surveyed by Harvard University complain that most of the money they pay for their government is appropriated to build the sports facilities instead of being spent on other important sectors such as education, pension, healthcare and national defense, all of which are the very things people care about. In addition, thirty percent of the people even state that they would launch a campaign against the ineffectiveness of the government. In the long run, the public resentment eventually causes social unrest.

In conclusion, the idea of building sports facilities is undesirable because it has brought about too many problems to be considered a positive trend. Considering its negative effects on health and social order, the athlete-friendly plans should be canceled.