International tourism is now more common than ever before Some feel that this is a positive trend while others do not

The issue of whether tourism industry should be properly regulated has been a heatedly discussed topic in the recent years, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many. Some people claim that this profit-driven business has had a detrimental impact on the local environment while others do not agree. Personally speaking, I would assert that international tourism is a positive trend as it can promote the development of local economy.

The rationality of checking the development of tourism should be recognized for the following reasons. To begin with, travel industry can lead to air pollution, and this is because there has been a large amount of greenhouse gases discharged from vehicles. For example, the air in Shanghai was very clean a decade ago. However, the booming development of tourism increased the demand of cars in Shanghai. According to the data issued by the local government, there was an uptrend trend in the figures of PM 2.5, with its percentage increasing by 5% from 2010 to 2020. Also, this industry wreaks havoc on ecosystem. For instance, my hometown had large areas of forests in the absence of tourism 50 years ago. The government cut down many forests to make way for modern buildings in order to strengthen this industry. However, this does not necessarily mean that tourism should be regulated.

In fact, international tourism should be developed vigorously. First and foremost, this industry can facilitate local economic progress. For example, Shanghai’s tourism had been developing for the past decade years. Although the air pollution in Shanghai was caused by the growing number of both domestic and international visitors, the GDP in Shanghai had a significant increase, with its percentage of the GDP increasing by 20% between 2010 and 2020. In addition, tourism can improve infrastructure and local facilities. For instance, it was difficult to see international business centers before the advent of tourist industry in my hometown. Since the government put a great emphasis on travel business, they refurbished many old buildings and repaved the originally bumpy roads. Therefore, the number of skyscrapers and financial hubs have been mushrooming in Shanghai.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that tourism is necessary, as its beneficial effects outweigh the rest. Not only can this industry improve economy, but it can have a city urbanized.