Some countries achieve international sports by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use Do you think this is positive or negative development

Nowadays, international sports games become a playing field for national sports industry to showcase the best personal talents and bring home honor and admiration. Some countries are willing to provide specialized facilities to train athletic skills, instead of providing fitness facilities for public use. While I think this is a positive development, it also has some drawbacks.

There are some advantages of/to building facilities specifically used for athletes. The immediate one is that professional athletes will indeed improve their skills. In order to defeat rivals and gain fame in international competitions, like the Olympic Games, countries need to guarantee that their athletes, even after gaining a lot of golden medals, could perform better in the future. It is natural and reasonable for those governments to fund their players and offer them better equipment and devices. Nevertheless, this does not necessarily imply that sportspeople should have the privilege of monopolizing the national resources.

In fact, the funds for this establishment come from government revenue, which is a collection of various forms. Therefore, it is unfair for taxpayers to pay for the things that they cannot use. In general, the true sportsmanship lies only in winning medals, but also in improving the physical condition of everyone. In addition, the careless use of the national revenue leads to deepening the public distrust of their government. People might be angry about the inadequate facilities they should be given access to, and see this flaw as the incompetence or betrayal of their government. In the long run, they might lose confidence in any of the government’s future policies.

In conclusion, the idea of building specialized facilities exclusively targeted at elite athletes cannot be supported because it has brought too many problems to be considered a positive trend. Some people take issue with my viewpoint because they think athletes should be given more welfare to ensure their professional development. However, this policy has negative impacts on the allocation of tax revenue and deepens public distrust on their government. Therefore, I would suggest that any plans of constructing facilities specifically used for athletes should be scrapped.