All the people in a company should be treated equally and provided with the same numbers of vacations in a year To what extent do you agree or disagree

Cutthroat business culture is so prevalent that people are discussing how to improve workplace environment. One of their suggestions is that companies should embrace equality in the workplace and grant all eligible employees the same number of vacation leave annually. From my perspective, this idea is far from viable despite some potential benefits.

Admittedly, there are several advantages of granting all employees the equal days of annual leave. The immediate one is that this employee-friendly policy could effectively enhance a corporate image. With an emphasis on equality in the workplace, the company is more likely to retain excellent workers and attract professional elites to join the teamwork. In addition, the equal welfare is conducive to higher staff morale given the fact that all workers, regardless of their positions, are able to get fully recharged and rejuvenated after taking a break. Better yet, they would show more commitment to their duties, eventually contributing to greater productivity and efficiency in work. However, these benefits mentioned above do not necessarily imply that this egalitarian concept is completely applicable to real situations.

In fact, granting all workers the equal days of vacations causes scheduling problems. If more than 10 employees request a vacation leave within the same time slot, this will bring about three problems. First and foremost, employers might find it difficult to seek substitutes who are competent for the jobs. Second, the unfinished work will increase colleagues’ workload. Third, it is hard to run normal business when there are not enough workers at a company.

Unfairness among all staff is another repercussion of this employee-friendly policy. Compared with common employees, senior managers take more responsibility and handle more time-consuming jobs such as budgets, planning and personnel affairs. They devote all their energy and time to their work. However, common employees whose jobs are to deal with easier daily routines usually work regularly and go home on time. Therefore, it is unfair to senior managers if they share the same days of holidays with their subordinates.

In conclusion, the idea of offering employees equal days of vacations is completely unacceptable. This practice leads to the difficulty of scheduling, unfairness, and a negative workplace environment. Hence, all companies should not follow this trend.