Zoos are inhumane and should be abolished To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

In recent years, zoos seem to have become an indispensable part of our cities. Some assert that keeping animals in zoos is inhumane, while others argue otherwise. From my perspective, it is necessary to open a zoo although we need to face a few drawbacks.

Admittedly, it seems difficult to refute the idea that zoos have negative impacts on wildlife. First of all, keeping animals in captivity actually violates animals’ rights, because they belong in their natural habitats which give them freedom of action. Second, animals may be tortured by keepers in order to domesticate them. Last but not least, the long-term feeding practice will deprive animals of their ability to survive in the wild environment. However, this does not necessarily mean that we need to close down zoos. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that abolishing the system of zoos is necessary.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that zoos merely take a toll on animals. In fact, the existence of zoos plays an important role in education and protection of endangered animals. First and foremost, zoos give people an opportunity to satisfy their curiosity about animals that they have never seen, thus enhancing public understanding of wildlife. For example, children can witness what whales look like and know the significant role this biggest mammal plays in the ecosystem. What’s more, they will keep watching how whales eat or sleep. After people clear up their confusions, they may share their discovery with their friends, flaunting the extent to which they know about the animal they have learned from the zoo. Therefore, zoos create an environment conducive to increasing people’s knowledge of animals.

In addition, zoos can preserve species vulnerable to extinction. The reason why they face extinction is that they are unable to adapt to the wild environment by themselves. Therefore, if humans did not intervene with their destiny, they would be doomed to vanish from the earth. For instance, the population of Chinese pandas was only 1,114 in 1980 because of the decrease of bamboo. Hence, the Chinese government listed pandas as national first-class protected animals and took pandas to zoos in order to prevent them from extinction. Afterwards, the population of pandas increased to 2,400 in 2021.

In conclusion, both of these two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that zoos are integral part of our society, as its benefits outweigh the rest.