now a days more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face it is a positive or a negative development

In recent years, technology has revolutionized the ways in which people stay contact with faraway friends and relatives. A growing number of people are choosing to socialize online instead of having face-to-face interactions. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to internet fraud and some embarrassing problems later in life.

Undeniably, the convenience, together with time-saving efficiency offered by online socialization, is the greatest appeal. For example, during the period of COVID-19, many governments have imposed lockdown on major cities, requiring everybody to hunker down at home to curb the spread of the virus. During the days of social distancing and shutdown, socializing online provides access to staying connected with families or friends. Therefore, the virtual world behind the computer screen temporarily helps people reduce the stress caused by social isolation or quarantine. However, this does not necessarily imply that face-to-face interaction can be replaced by the internet.

In fact, there are some dangers lurking behind the cyber world. The first serious problem arising from socializing online is internet fraud. Many people use fake identities to access others’ personal information. For instance, some impostors might be disguised as poor people who are desperate for cash. Nevertheless, these immoral scammers will cut off contact with the victim forever when they cheat him or her out of money.

Second, confidential information leakage is also a serious problem many people are concerned about. For example, many young girls might upload their private photos online. Then, some scammers might photoshop their pictures, thereby blackmailing them into posting those photos on the internet.

In conclusion, the negative impacts of online interaction far outweigh the benefits it can bring to people. Although it has become more popular for people to socialize through the internet, it has brought about too many problems for this to be considered a positive trend. Hence, people should be cautious about interacting with others on the internet.