In recent years more and more people are choosing to read e books rather than paper books Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage

With the accessibility of the Internet, the ways in which people spread information have been tremendously revolutionized. Some assert that we should continue to make use of physical books, while others argue otherwise. From my perspective, e-books will supersede paper books gradually.

Admittedly, it seems difficult to refute the idea that printed books still play an important role in society because of the following reasons. First of all, paper books are not susceptible to network problems or digital viruses. Therefore, tangible books are literally safer than virtual books to a certain extent. Second, blue-ray, which is a harmful ray to our eyes, does not exist in printed books, so it can prevent us from some eyes’ diseases. Also, there are no pop-up advertisements on paper books, and this means we can focus all our attention on reading materials. For these reasons, there does seem to be solid basis for the claim that printed books still play a significant part in the literary world.

On the other hand, it seems shorted-sight to contend that we need to discard e-books. In fact, digital books can efficiently save our space and money. In terms of space, countless books are digitally compressed into electronic books that seem like a small box containing various kinds of treasures. For example, there are approximately 1,340,000 books recorded in the WeChat Reading, which are more than the collection in the library of Peking University. If we have such a great number of paper books, it will roughly take us 26,800 cubic meter of space. Therefore, e-books can allow us to have more spare space to place whatever we like.

In addition, utilizing e-books are a cost-efficient way to record and disseminate information. Producing paper books require a huge mass of labor and material resources, both of which cost a lot of money, and the quantity of production totally depends on the demand in the market. However, in contrast, the marginal cost of electronic books is approaching zero. For instance, WeChat Reading spends 25 dollars converting a physical book into an e-book. Although the cost of producing an e-book is higher than that of producing a paper one, the e-book can be well-preserved and accessible to thousands of people simultaneously.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their cons and pros, but still, I maintain that the growing trend towards using digital books is irreversible, as the advantages of using e-books far outweigh the disadvantages.