Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves

A great man once said,” Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself. “Through being educated, people can absorb assorted knowledge to enhance their capability and develop their interests. Education will make society progress as well. To achieve these goals, people have to continue learning. As a result, we must acquire the ability of self-learning. I subscribe to the prompt.

To begin with, there is too much knowledge in the world and we cannot absorb all of them during the day at school. Most of us spend one-fifth of our life or so to be students. During the process, we earn a lot of knowledge and skills to explore our world. Some students, even, further study for master’s or doctor’s degree. Nonetheless, all the knowledge we gain is just a drop in the ocean. For instance, in my country, except for the native language, the school only teaches us a second language. If I want to learn another one, I have to look for some resources and study it by myself. Consequently, only by owning this ability of self-learning can we last receiving new information.

Secondly, continuous education is essential for our community. To be more concise, the more personal improvement is accumulated, the more positive effect it will have on our community. Take The Industry Revolution as an example. In the nineteenth century, the first steam engine was invented and many physical theories was proposed. These accomplishments were individual. However, eventually, it changed the whole society. This case indicates that if we teach people how to educate themselves, they can keep absorbing new information and progressing after they are off-campus, which produces a substantial and favorable impact on our world.

Admittedly, some people might take issue with my standpoint because they deem that education intends to make people become a well-trained man. A man who can adapt to this society, understand manners, and so on. For example, university students are able to respect other people, express their opinions to the public, and possess some skills which let them get established in society. Nevertheless, it is not the purpose of education. That a man is well-educated means he longs to improve himself and he can rather than satisfying what skills he has already had.

To recapitulate, during the process of growing up, we learn a wide variety of methods of doing anything. In that purpose, we are able to adapt to distinctive situations and solve every problem which we encounter. However, there is invariably new knowledge to show up. We need to know how to educate ourselves, which renders us to keep obtaining the latest information. That is the ultimate goal of education.