Do you agree or disagree with the following statement These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in organized activities related to school or sports However they should be given more time to do whatever they want

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how to develop children’s potentials. This has led to the suggestion that parents should encourage their children to acquire a wide variety of knowledge such as mathematics, technology and music and arrange some outdoor activities for their kids. In addition to concentrating upon academic studies and school-related activities, these parents also think it important to allow children to engage in whatever they feel interested in. From my perspective, this open-minded idea is desirable despite some manageable demerits.

Irrefutably, there are several disadvantages of giving children individual autonomy over time. One of the potential downsides is that children are not mature enough to know what they want, nor are they able to perfectly arrange their schedule. There has been evidence that children with unconstrained freedom are more likely to risk doing something illegal such as taking drug and browsing pornographic websites. Nonetheless, there is little likelihood of these happenings given the fact that the benefits of this trend far outweigh its drawbacks.

In fact, children are able to foster a sense of responsibility if trained to schedule their daily routines. For example, children who juggle homework with entertainment have to draw a timetable to complete both of them. If they only bury themselves in playing video games, their time for doing assignments would be greatly reduced. It is apparent that they could not get their duties done punctually, and that they would be reprimanded for their negligence. However, they would get a valuable lesson from this negative experience, being aware that they should be accountable for unfinished tasks.

Another benefit of providing children with some independence is that they have opportunities to explore their future possibilities. Only when children have private time to deal with what they like can they understand their capability and identify their weakness, and Canada is a good example. Aside from academic studies and extracurricular activities, secondary schools in Canada provide students with a three-hour self-study session per week in which they are motivated to discover what they like or lack. Students who expect to become tech-savvy experts can make use of time to research how to solve the problems of computer viruses. Others practice sketching portraits if they want to be painters. And still others that are not enthusiastic about academic studies are able to participate in some hands-on activities such as carpentry and paper-cutting.

To recapitulate, some people might take issue with my standpoint because they are uncertain whether children could organize their daily lives orderly. Nevertheless, children are able to become more responsible and realize their strengths and limitations if they are properly trained to prioritize their own things. Hence, the idea of sparing children more flexible time to do whatever they want should be promoted.