Some cities have vehicle free days when private cars trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses taxis and metro on vehicle free days Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

The issue of whether or not governments should limit the traffic flow has been a heatedly discussed topic in the recent years, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many. Some people claim that private cars should not be allowed to enter city centers while others do not agree. From my perspective, this constructive idea is utterly feasible albeit/despite some avoidable demerits.

Admittedly, the public cannot be oblivious of the drawbacks of banning cars from urban areas. One of the potential downsides is the devastating economic consequences. Implementation of car traffic restrictions will suspend the delivery of daily supplies to stores, forcing retailers to choose alternative but expensive ways to secure their supply chain, and this implies an increase in the cost of running their business. If there is a shortage of cash flow, there is great likelihood of ending their business, which in turn leads to a rise of unemployment and a rapid decline in economy. Nevertheless, this economic impact does not necessarily imply that cars should be denied access to urban areas.

In fact, creating a car-free city is conducive to the reduction of air pollution and the safety among residents and visitors. According to the data provided by the National Environmental Protection Organization, there has been a significant drop in the amount of carbon dioxide emissions after private cars are restricted access to the city center. In addition, local residents and pedestrians can walk on the road without any traffic threat because there is no traffic congestion. Even better, firefighters would not be concerned about being trapped in a traffic jam.

In conclusion, both of the views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that private vehicles should be prohibited from entering the city center, as its beneficial effects outweigh the rest. Although allowing the private cars to enter central areas might have economic impacts on local businesses, our environment and safety are the last things that we can ignore.