Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Vehicular pollution and traffic jams have become a pestering problem for almost all urban areas in the world. Some cities have implemented the principle of vehicle-free days when everyone rides on public rather than personal transport. I think this strategy has greater disadvantages than advantages since it fails to change people’s behavior and causes over-crowding of public transport.

Clearly, vehicle-free days help in containing the pollution in urban areas. Since vehicles are the primary source of local pollution such as, carbon monoxide and nitrogen dioxide that increase the temperature of a city and cause numerous diseases, they must be avoided on certain days. This helps reduce the particulate pollution that causes asthma and lung diseases. Also, the local warming of the city is reduced. For instance, the government of New Delhi recently experimented with the concept of vehicle-free days and this was extremely beneficial in curtailing the pollution of the fourth most polluted city in the world by 20 percent.

Despite these advantages, I believe that this idea has a large number of disadvantages. Firstly, avoiding private vehicles on just a few days increased pressure on the public transport tremendously. One study found that on vehicle-free days the number of people using a metro or a bus increase by 35 percent. This often leads to over-crowded public vehicles and reduces the comfort of travel. Secondly, reserving only a few days as vehicle-free does not create a long-term habit of using buses and trains. Though this may reduce the pollution and temperature on a specific day, it is not a permanent solution to these problems. The governments should invest heavily in public transport and make it comfortable so that the people develop a habit of traveling by buses.

In conclusion, I think that the idea of vehicle-free days is not a permanent solution to any traffic related problem. If the governments want to prevent traffic jams and reduce pollution, they should aim at changing the people’s behavior by investing heavily in the public transport infrastructure.