Do you agree or disagree with the statement These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in organized activities related to school or sports However they would be given more time to do whatever they want

As a famous educator has ever said, “Listen to the desires of your children. Encourage them and then give them the autonomy to make their own decision.” More and more people think that we should reduce the time which children spend on schoolwork and activities in order to give them more time to do what they are interested in. From my perspective, the idea is infeasible despite some potential merits.

Admittedly, we cannot oblivious of the advantages accruing from giving children more free time. To begin with, being able to gain more experience of problem solving is an added bonus of having children manage their time. For example, children need to solve different and unexpected problems in the process of dealing with what they like. Although they are very likely to encounter challenges or even setbacks, they would accumulate more and more experience which they cannot get at school. Also, they are able to take a brain break from the stress of their academic studies and social life. According to the MIT’s data, children who are given more free time are 20 percent less likely to get mental illness than those who are suffering a lot of pressure from school. Nonetheless, there is little likelihood of these happenings given the fact that the drawbacks of this idea far outweigh its benefits.

In fact, children who have more spare time might pick up bad habits because they are too young to distinguish between right and wrong. According to a recent social study, children are more likely to go astray if their time is not properly regulated. Given that they are short of self-control and social experience, they might use the free time to make bad friends who teach them how to smoke and drinking alcohol. Worse still, they will be induced to commit crime.

Second, giving children more time to do whatever they like affects their academic performance, and this is because they lack experience planning schedules. Since they use spare time to play online games without showing commitment to schoolwork, they might not be admitted to university. University education plays a pivotal part in children’s lives although it cannot directly decide their future. Afterward, children will lose a lot of competitive advantages if they cannot enter into a first-tier university. According to the Harvard Business School’s data, the upper and middle classes are mostly composed of 95 percent of people who graduate from the top 50 university in the world.

To recapitulate, some people might take issue with my point of view because children are deprived of their free time. Nevertheless, we should prioritize children’s moral character and future; thus, the idea of giving children more free time should not be promoted.