Do you agree or disagree with the statement: These days, children spend more time on doing homework or participating in organized activities related to school or sports. However, they would be given more time to do whatever they want.

Traditionally, doing homework and taking part in organized activities are considered as wise ways to help children become ready for social life, intellectually and emotionally. However, I believe that more time should be given to children to do whatever they want, for it can cultivate their independence, stimulate interests and enhance family relationship.

Firstly, Allowing children to do whatever they choose to do can better cultivate independent ability. If only focusing on the school arrangements, doing the fixed homework and participating in organized activities, children would lose the ability to arrange their own activities and manage their time rationally. Once children have been accustomed to the arranged life, they would follow rules others make, rather than breaking up them. What’s more, children’s innovation will be harmed greatly if everything has already been set for them.

Secondly, Giving children more time to do whatever they like is beneficial for them to stimulate interests. On the one hand,just as a saying goes: interest is the best teacher. Only when children do the things they like can they realize their talents. Their potential can also be stimulated. On the other hand, children will stick to what they are fond of and learn a priceless lesson that perseverance will pay off. Life abounds with such examples. Bill Gates took interests in computer programing and was excused from math classes to pursue his interest when he was young. However, his parents never hamper his interests. It is his enthusiasm toward computer software designing that makes him one of the most renowned business magnates.

Thirdly, family relationship can be significantly boosted, if parents give more free time to children. If parents set too many restrictions on what children can do, children would gradually feel disgusted about these limits. Suppose a young child goes back home after a whole day’s classes, feeling exhausted physically and mentally. However, instead of caring about their child’s emotions, parents still push him to do homework and participate in organized activities. In this case, this child will become rebellious. Hardly does his communicate with his parents in the future, which, in the long run, does harm to his psychological health. By contrast, if parents can give him more freedom to choose whatever he likes, this child would realize that parents show great respect and trust to him. Therefore, family relationship would, undoubtedly, be enhanced. Based on the above analysis, giving children more time to do what they want to is definitely a wise idea.