TPO 22

Most teachers are very knowledgeable and respected by the students. However, it doesn’t mean that they should show their social or political views to their students in the classroom. To me, I am afraid I have to disagree with the statement.

First, students are naive and lacking social experiences. Some of them are still not qualified to tell the differences between opinion and fact. If the teachers show their political viewpoints during the class, these young children can be easily affected, because they consider everything the teacher said is right and objective without a second thought. For instance, my brother is a junior student. One day he came home and told me to throw all the foreign products from home because he heard a story from his teacher at the school. The story his teacher told him that, after a nuclear leak accident happened in Japan, the Japanese still sell goods from those polluted areas. The teacher said these businessmen are unethical. After hearing this opinion, my brother started to consider all foreigners and import products are wrong, and we should not use them anymore. However, this is bias, and my brother can’t tell if that right or not. Thus, I think teachers opinions can easily manipulate young students thoughts. To avoid it, Teachers should not express their personal political views too much.

Second, teachers should pay more attention to teaching rather than forcing students to hear these kinds of viewpoints. To discuss a social or political event and express opinions usually take much time, as this process requires a lot of background information. If the teacher spends too much time on these trivial things, the time for students to learn skills and knowledge will be reduced. For example, most college students have a heavy load on many subjects, and if their class professors keep spending the time to tell their political views, class schedules will be delayed. Even worse, students may fail the exam.

Although discussing opinions have many benefits for the students, but accounting the fact that most students expect more objective knowledge rather than personal views, I think the teachers should not express their social or political views to students in the classroom.