TPO 22 Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Choosing the right topic for the classroom has always been a big concern for teachers. As everybody knows, teachers try to make regular communication with their students. Consequently, they talk about many topics in their classrooms to create a strong relationship with their students. Some of them prefer to talk about some general topics and some of them prefer to have a speech about other concepts. In my view, they do not need to talk about their own ideas. I will substantiate my point of view in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, students would be influenced by their teacher. Teachers are getting paid because of the content that they teach to the students, not by discussing various life issues. In the classes, both teachers and students should focus on lectures and related problems. Teachers should discuss the lectures with the students, share their research or working experiences instead of talking about their political viewpoints. It definitely will increase studying efficiency in the classes. For example, my friend's math teacher talked about the recent political news during the lesson with some of the students. As a result, he totally forgot about teaching, and one lesson ended up like that with no productivity of the child.

Last but not least, when teachers make their social or political perspectives known to students, they may influence students' viewpoints. As a matter of fact, political or social discussions distract the student's focus. This really influences the opinions of students, especially when their teachers' opinions are biased. Additionally, this also prevents the free development of students. For instance, when my teacher usually expresses his disapproval about government, he makes us have the same opinions as him. Hence, most of the students, which don't know much about politics, at the class consider policies and agreements of the president are wrong or unsuitable. Obviously, the attitudes of teachers have the potential to change the viewpoints of students.

All in all, Teachers play a vital role in society, since they have an indirect effect on the student's thoughts. Political and social issues that are discussed by the teachers not only waste most of the valuable time of the classrooms but also will influence the students' grades and most probably future.