TPO 23

There is an old Chinese idiom called that: “If you want to sail for ten thousand years, you must be very careful.” It suggested that we should be very careful to ensure correctness in our life. However, is that still apply to today’s world? As for me, I think it’s more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than being too careful. The reasons as followed.

First, today’s speed of society and technology development is like a rocket. Things may change very quickly without giving us enough time to plan anything well in advance. Take Facebook as an example, which is one of the most fast-growing and valuable companies in the world. Facebook has a motto called “Move fast, and break things.” They use it to encourage the staffs to work faster without being afraid of failure. Because they think the quicker they work, more chances they can succeed. Think about that, if Facebook’s programmers and product managers have to discuss every detail of a new feature on their website, they will waste a bunch of time on meaningless discussion. Even worse, if the CEO of Facebook afraid of making mistakes, Facebook may not be a thing. From this story, we can learn how important is that to work quickly in nowadays.

Second, the competitions between people are rather intensive. One way to out-competed others is to move earlier and quicker. Take my brother as an example. He wanted to apply for MIT. He also found out that, his major usually accept only two students every year. So my brother started preparation early and sent his application to the school very quickly. A month later, he received an acceptance letter from the school, while his classmates still asking teachers opinions.

All to all, it’s great to be patient and careful, but if you want to archive more and experience more, it’s better to take the fast path. In other words, we should not be afraid of taking risks as they can help us become stronger. Take another old Chinese idiom to conclude: “The most powerful way to beat your enemy is to be faster than them.”