TPO 23 independent

Agree or disagree

in today's world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Today's world is considered as a VUCA (volatile and complex) place where all the employees and knowledge workers must try as hard as they can to fulfill their companies' requirements. In this context, there are mutually exclusive idealizations regarding whether working quickly in order to finish the job is more acceptable or working more slowly with higher concentration. In my point of view, I am inclined to the latter idea in spite of the fact that the former has more aficionados among adults. My answer to this bone of contention is twofold, and in the following, the rationale behind it will be elaborated by the most outstanding, solid proofs.

The first and foremost reason which is worth mentioning is that by focusing on what is going to be proposed, the reliability of one person will increase among their colleagues. As PMI (project management institute) claims: "engineers and workers always have to double check their reports before handing them over to their supervisors/ managers". To put in into a more vivid picture, I was a project control engineer three years ago when I was undergoing mandatory military service in my city, Kerman. At first, I thought that working fast is the climax objective of every engineer; therefore, I always tried hard to report to my manager regardless of what I was going to share with him. As a result, all of my reports were full of mistakes, the charts were unsatisfying, and the headlined were mislead. My manager, Reza, asked me to have a meeting with him. In the meeting, he told me working more efficiently is more vital than finishing my tasks fast; in other words, he meant that the faster an individual works, the more they are prone to mistakes. Afterwards, I realized that handing over the tasks in the most effective way is the main goal of every job.

The second and equally far-reaching rationalization to bear in mind is that this mindset will gradually affect the quality of the individuals' tasks positively. Provided that a worker concentrate on their tasks and omit their mistakes and flaws consciously, they will do the exact correct work unconsciously in the future. Researchers of RMIT, one of the best universities in Australia, conducted a survey of civil engineers among whom they disseminated a questionnaire. They realized that there is an indirect exponential relation between their mistakes and their amount of effort concentrating on their work. In other words, the more they concentrate, the better results they will obtain, and they do not need to focus consciously on what they do after a few years. Like Buffet who was consciously trading in stockmarket for 30 years and made so many mistakes, but afterwards, he has been doing his job in the best way unconsciously since he had made his mistakes before.

In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned justifications into account, I concur that working more slowly is more momentous for workers. In that case, they will be considered as a reliable person among others since they always finish everything correctly. Besides, this mindset will help workers to do their tasks unconsiously and without thinking about what is wrong and what is right to do.