long hours few days of work, or short hours more days

It is a tricky subject when addressing what is "enjoyable" about an individual's job as there are various attitudes people have towards their career and working, in general. Some view their jobs as the road to success and a big part of their identity relies on the jobs they do. On the other hand, many people just consider their careers as a duty they have to take care of on a daily basis, to earn money and be able to attend to their real amusements, which can be anything besides work. All that said, I believe that working five days a week for shorter hours is more enjoyable and simoltaneously, more practical. I will demonstrate as foolows.

Firstly, human capacity is limited. I believe that as the work hours get longer proficiency drops and individuals are not able to concentrate. exhaustion could cause several human errors and it reduces one's ability to properly dliver what is required of them. To demostrate further, as I am a medical doctor, I have seen in my own routine of work and many of my colleagues that in the final hours of a long 36 hours shift, we are all struggling to focus and function adequately.

Secondly, long hours of work without sufficient breaks, even when they are scheduled in few days of the week, can contribute to development of mental instability and depression in individuals. The human minds needs frequently alternating cycles of work and rest. Disrupting that equilibrium may cause overexhaustion or understimulating of the brain and driving it towards depression and anxiety.

Finally, four days off in a week may seem very enjoyable at first, but I think that there is such a thing as too much rest and leisure time. In my opinion, as a person spends too much time away from their job, their enthusiasm and motivation towards their field of work might diminish as well. Let us consider a first grade teacher who spends only three days a week in the classroom comparing to a teacher who spends five days a week teaching. I believe that the latter would be more commited and emotionally attached to the children, thus being an overall more successful teacher.

In conclusion, I consider the five days of work in a week with reasonable hours the quite efficient and practical option on the basis that it improves individual's perforamnce and proficiency, gives the human brain time to rest, and provides the opportunity to be more involved and commited to one's career.