is it better to focus on one skill or many skills

The approach an individual takes to the improvement of their skills depends to a great extent on their goal and expected function of those skills in their lives. While many might believe specializing in one area is a decisive factor in being more successful, opponents may argue that learning different capabilities is more practical and useful. I agree with the former, and I believe success is readily achieved while focusing on the development of one specific skill. I will demonstrate further as follows.

First, in my opinion, today's world is a bed for specialty training and promoting the status of individuals who are highly advanced experts in one narrow field. Due to all the progress in science and technology, every subject in the educational and professional fields has become tremendously complex, and it requires special training. Additionally, when a company wants to hire an employee or when a community member needs service, they turn to the person who is particularly focused on the subject and has developed extraordinary skills. In other words, while there was a high demand for generalization in the past, today, communities encourage specialization. For instance, a hundred years ago, in my country, there was only one type of medical doctor, which corresponds to the general practitioner role today. This doctor had to know about every illness, every drug, and nutritional and physical facts. Today, by contrast, there are specialists trained to treat every minute part of the body, and people value their work more than general practitioners.

Secondly, striving to develop several skills and perfecting each one of them is simply impossible in my mind. We live in a busy world; the hectic nature of modern life makes balancing between work, education, and social life very difficult. Now, imagine combining these inevitable challenges with another hard-to-overcome obstacle; the development of numerous abilities and gaining expertise in every one of them. There is a limit to human time and energy, and this struggle surpasses that limit. Thus, I believe in the attempt of trying different skills, one might risk not achieving excellence in any one of them. For example, how can a professional international athlete manage to find the time to attend graduate school and get a Ph.D. in finance?

Conclusively, I believe that in today's world there are high rewarding roles for people who have specialized skills. Moreover, it is not plausible to assume a person can learn many different skills and be proficient in all of them. Therefore, it is best to concentrate on developing one ability and improving it constantly.